Newsletter - Links - Advertise - Contact Us - Privacy

Scottish Government detail school building programme

September 26 2012

Scottish Government detail school building programme
The Scottish Government have released the names of thirty schools which constitute the next tranche of a £1.25bn school construction programme which will deliver 67 new schools for 46,000 pupils.

Overseen by the Scottish Futures Trust the first of these schools could commence construction within 12 months  

Education secretary Michael Russell said: “By identifying all 30 schools now, we can get the projects moving and offer some certainty to one of Scotland’s key industries, providing a welcome boost to our economic recovery.”

The 30 schools are:
  • Aberdeen City Council – new secondary to replace Torry and Kincorth Academies*  (R)
  • Aberdeenshire Council – Alford Community Campus* (R)
  • Angus Council – Forfar Academy* (R)
  • Argyll & Bute Council – Oban High School (R)
  • City of Edinburgh Council – St John’s Primary School (C)
  • Clackmannanshire Council – Craigbank Primary School (C)
  • Comhairle nan Eilean Siar – New Primary School in North Uist (C)
  • Dumfries & Galloway Council – Crichton 15+ secondary school (R)
  • Dundee City Council – Baldragon Academy (R)
  • East Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Kilmarnock and James Hamilton Academies (R)
  • East Dunbartonshire Council – New primary school (C)
  • East Renfrewshire Council – Barrhead High School* (R)
  • Falkirk Council – Carrongrange ASN School (C)
  • Fife Council – New secondary to replace Buckhaven and Kirkland High Schools* (R)
  • Glasgow City Council – Garscadden Primary School (C)           
  • Highland Council – Inverness Royal Academy* (R)
  • Inverclyde Council – St Patrick’s Primary School (C) (refurb)
  • Midlothian Council – Newbattle High School* (R)
  • Moray Council – Elgin High School* (R)
  • North Ayrshire Council – New secondary to replace Ardrossan and Auchenharvie Academies (R)
  • North Lanarkshire Council – Greenfaulds High School* (R)
  • Perth & Kinross Council – New secondary school (R)
  • Renfrewshire Council – New ASN school (C)
  • Scottish Borders Council – Kelso High School* (R)
  • Shetland Islands Council – Anderson High School* (R)
  • South Ayrshire Council – Marr College* (R)
  • South Lanarkshire Council – New primary to replace Halfmerke Primary School and West Mains ASN school (C)
  • Stirling Council – St Ninian’s Primary School (C)
  • West Dunbartonshire Council – Our Lady and St Patrick’s High School (R)
  • West Lothian Council – West Calder High School (C) (refurb)

•    * denotes schools that could start construction with next 12 -18 months.
•    ASN – Additional Support Needs
•    (R) – NPD revenue financed
•    (C) –  capital financed 

1 Comment

#1 Posted by Ryan on 16 Jun 2018 at 22:48 PM
I need you to come and building this in Canada

Post your comments


All comments are pre-moderated and
must obey our house rules.


Back to September 2012

Search News
Subscribe to Urban Realm Magazine
Features & Reports
For more information from the industry visit our Features & Reports section.