Newsletter - Links - Advertise - Contact Us - Privacy

Scottish Design Awards to pay tribute to the next generation

May 11 2005

The judges of the Scottish Design Awards met last month to assess the entries to the architecture categories. The Awards received more entries than ever before, and the high quality of the entries gave the panel some difficult decisions to make. The judging panel was chaired by Sir Terry Farrell, who was joined by Ian Simpson, Ian Simpson Architects, Manchester; Riccardo Marini, Edinburgh City Council; Prospect editor, Penny Lewis; Jill Mulvenan, Urbis Ltd; John Punter, Cardiff School of City and Regional Planning; and Peter Stirling, Stirling Developments.

Nominations have now closed for Young Architect of the Year. Up for the award are Graeme McQuaker, Nord; Alisdair Clements, ZM Architecture; Oliver Chapman, Oliver Chapman Architects; Alistair Campbell and Gareth Roberts, IDP Scotland; William Tunnell, William Tunnell Architects; Eric Strickland, McKenzie Strickland; Chris Malcolm, Reiner Nowak and Karen McDonald, GM+AD; and Neil Stephen, Dualchas. Judging will take place in April, by a panel consisting of Penny Lewis; Peter Wilson, architectural commentator; and Graham Ross, architect, Austin-Smith:Lord.

Prospect’s editorial team has selected two architects who we believe are deserving of the Scottish Design Awards title Architect of the Year, 2005. Between them, Gareth Hoskins and Paul Stallan have had a major impact on Scotland’s architecture and the profession over the last year. Please cast your vote . Voting closes on Friday 13 May.

All Scottish Design Awards results will be announced at the Awards Dinner, on Friday 27 May at the Moat House Hotel, Glasgow.

Post your comments


All comments are pre-moderated and
must obey our house rules.


Back to May 2005

Search News
Subscribe to Urban Realm Magazine
Features & Reports
For more information from the industry visit our Features & Reports section.