Newsletter - Links - Advertise - Contact Us - Privacy

The Scottish Six Success

16 Aug 2005

The SIX Awards, Scotland’s annual student awards are now in their third year. They provide important insights into the achievements of individual students and schools of architecture across the country providing a rare opportunity to see work from all of the schools standing alongside each other. To coincide with the annual exhibition Prospect features the winning projects alongside a summary of the judges’ comments.

THE SIX Awards which showcase the best work from Scotland’s six architecture schools, is now in its third year. The Scottish Executive\'s Policy on Architecture makes a firm commitment to an annual student award scheme and over the past three years, as a result of the Executive’s ongoing support the awards have become an increasingly important feature in the academic calendar. As part of the Executive’s National Programme, which is delivered by The Lighthouse, the National Programme team and the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) produce a show that involves all six schools and offers visitors an important and rare opportunity to see the work of Scotland\'s future architects exhibited together at a single venue.
On July 8 2005 the Lighthouse announced the winners of this year’s SIX Awards. The awards are extremely successful in promoting student work, raising awareness of architecture generally and highlighting the variety and quality of work from each of the schools in Scotland.

Scotland’s six schools of architecture are;
Duncan of Jordanstone, University of Dundee
Edinburgh College of Art
Mackintosh School of Architecture, Glasgow
Scott Sutherland School of Architecture,
Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen
University of Edinburgh
University of Strathclyde, Glasgow

Awards are given in four categories:
1.RIAS Silver Medal for best fifth year student – prize of £1200
2. Lighthouse Award for best third year student – prize of £800
3. Urban Design Award which is open to students and groups from any year – prize of £1000
Each school nominates two students or groups to go forward for each of the three awards.
4. Sust. Award for sustainable design – open to all years and selected from the other categories – prize of £500.

These are detailed and shown below. To view the other winners please click here to subscribe to Prospect magazine.

This year the National Programme’s Student Awards were judged by a panel of five judges that included; Morag Bain, National Programme Development Officer from The Lighthouse, Kathryn Findlay of Ushida Findlay Architects and director of Fieldwork, the Centre for Architecture and Field Architecture Design Research at University of Dundee, Lori McElroy, Sust: Project Manager from The Lighthouse, Alan Pert of NORD Architecture and Ric Russell of Nicoll Russell Studios, who participated as the RIAS Award Representative.

All entries were brought together in an exhibition
of drawings at the Young Designers Gallery, The Lighthouse, Scotland’s Centre for Architecture, Design and the City between August 8 and September 11 2005. SIX will travel to the Scott Sutherland School in Aberdeen. Provisional dates
for the Aberdeen show are September 19 to October 14 2005.

The RIAS Silver Medal is awarded to the best Fifth year student, based on submissions of the students’ final year thesis projects and fourth year work. This year’s entrants dealt with a wide range of briefs from a marine institute in Istanbul to a museum and memorial in Stirling.


01 Winner
Andrew Henriques
University of Edinburgh
Henriques’s 5th year project is the Museum of Water, a marine Institute at the Golden Horn in Istanbul. The judges were impressed by the fact that Henriques continuously tested ideas through many processes. There was a consistent, varied progression throughout his 4th and 5th year portfolio work. His work also went beyond any pedagogical context. The judges have great expectations for his future and will be following his career with interest.

02 Commended
Douglas McCorkell
Mackintosh School of Architecture, Glasgow
McCorkell’s Museum and memorial portraying Stirling Castle’s central role in the Scottish Wars of Independence involved a rigorous exploration of spaces that addresses subject, content, context, landscape and the journey. The landscape becomes part of the museum through ‘framing’. His portfolio showed a meaningful progress from his earlier work.

Special mention
In recognition of good work to Joseph Narsapur of Duncan of Jordanstone.

Mhairi Archibald – Edinburgh College of Art
Jonathan Taylor – Edinburgh College of Art
Jennifer Dooner – Mackintosh School of Architecture
Douglas McCorkell – Mackintosh School of Architecture
Christine Bigg – Scott Sutherland
Andrew Kearns – Scott Sutherland
Ross Barrett – University of Strathclyde
Lee Nellis – University of Strathclyde
Neil Cruickshank – Duncan of Jordanstone
Joseph Narsapur – Duncan of Jordanstone
Nigel Peake – University of Edinburgh
Andrew Henriques – University of Edinburgh

Back to August 2005

For more news from the industry visit our News section.
Subscribe to Urban Realm Magazine
Features & Reports
For more information from the industry visit our Features & Reports section.